Tell your politicians how this draft policy impacts you.

Email the politicians from our lists below.

About the Islands Trust

Every four years, electors in the Islands Trust Area elect 26 trustees to uphold the mandate to preserve and protect this special part of the world. Two local trustees represent each of the 12 local trust areas, and two municipal trustees represent Bowen Island Municipality.

Each local trustee sits on a local trust committee responsible for land use planning and regulation in its local trust area, and all trustees sit on the Islands Trust Council.

The Islands Trust Conservancy Board consists of two elected trustees from Trust Council, one trustee from Trust Council’s Executive Committee, and up to three members of the public appointed by the Minister of Municipal Affairs. Appointed members serve terms of between one and three years.

For more detail on the Trust, see our page
The Islands Trust.

Here’s how Island Trustees voted on the Draft Policy.

First reading of the draft policy voting results in July 2021. Those in red essentially voted to “ram” it through (without a proper public engagement) while those in green voted to rethink the policy after receiving so many letters from impacted residents and businesses.

Provincial MLAs

Salt Spring Island, Galiano, North & South Pender, Mayne Island, Saturna

- MLA Saanich North & the Islands - Adam Olsen - adam.olsen.MLA@leg.bc.ca

Gabriola, Valdes, Thetis

- MLA Nanaimo – North Cowichan – Doug Routley – douglas.routley.MLA@leg.bc.ca

Lasqueti

- MLA Parksville – Qualicum – Adam Walker – adam.walker.MLA@leg.bc.ca

Denman, Hornby

- MLA Mid-Island – Pacific Rim – Josie Osborne – josie.osborne.MLA@leg.bc.ca

Gambier, Keats

- MLA Powell River – Sunshine Coast – Nicholas Simons – nicholas.simons.MLA@bc.leg.ca

Bowen

- MLA West Vancouver – Sea to Sky – Jordan Sturdy – jordan.sturdy.MLA@leg.bc.ca

Government Ministers to Contact

Premier

- John Hogan – john.horgan.MLA@leg.bc.ca

Minister of Municipal Affairs

- Josie Osborne – Minister – MAH.minister@gov.bc.ca; josie.osborne.MLA@leg.bc.ca

- Okenge Yuma Morisho – Deputy Minister – MAH.DMO@gov.bc.ca

Minister of Environment & Climate Change Strategy

- George Heyman – Minister – ENV.Minister@gov.bc.ca; George.heyman.MLA@leg.bc.ca

- Kevin Jardine – Deputy Minister – DM.ENV@gov.bc.ca

Minister of Agriculture, Food and Fisheries,

- Lana Popham – Minister – AGR.Minister@gov.bc.ca; lana.popham.mla@leg.bc.ca

- Thomas Ethier – Deputy Minister

Minister of Indigenous Relations & Reconciliation

- Murray Rankin – Minister – IRR.Minister@gov.bc.ca; murray.rankin.MLA@leg.bc.ca

- Doug Caul – Deputy Minister – doug.caul@gov.bc.ca

Minister of Forests, Lands, Natural Resource Operations & Rural Development

- Katrine Conroy – Minister – FLNR.Minister@gov.bc.ca

- John Allan – Deputy Minister - john.allan@gov.bc.ca

Copies to:

Peter Luckham, Chair, Trust Council, pluckham@islandstrust.bc.ca

Russ Hotsenpiller, Chief Administrative Officer, Islands Trust rhotsenpiller@islandstrust.bc.ca

Dave Howe, Director – Southern Gulf Islands, Capital Regional District directorsgi@crd.bc.ca

Gary Holman, Director - Saltspring Island, Capital Regional District gholman@crd.bc.ca

Island Trustees Individual & Group List below.

Please email your representatives.

  1. Donald Clarke, Islands Trust Conservancy Board Member
    E:
    dclarke@islandstrust.bc.ca

  2. Linda Adams, Islands Trust Conservancy Board Member

    E: ladams@islandstrust.bc.ca

  3. Peter Grove, Salt Spring Island Trustee

    E: pgrove@islandstrust.bc.ca

  4. Laura Patrick, Salt Spring Island Trustee

    E: lpatrick@islandstrust.bc.ca

  5. Peter Luckham, Chair: SSI

    E: pluckham@islandstrust.bc.ca

  6. Benjamin McConchie, North Pender Trustee

    E: bemcconchie@islandstrust.bc.ca

  7. Deb Morrison, North Pender Island Trustee

    E: dmorrison@islandstrust.bc.ca

  8. Cameron Thorn, South Pender Island Trustee

    E: cthorn@islandstrust.bc.ca

  9. Steve Wright, South Pender Island Trustee

    E: stwright@islandstrust.bc.ca

  10. Paul Brent, Saturna Island Trustee

    E: pbrent@islandstrust.bc.ca

  11. Lee Middleton, Saturna Island Trustee

    E: lmiddleton@islandstrust.bc.ca

  12. Jeanine Dodds, Mayne Island Trustee

    E: jdodds@islandstrust.bc.ca

  13. David Maude, Mayne Island Trustee

    E: dmaude@islandstrust.bc.ca

  14. Dan Rogers, Chair

    E: drogers@islandstrust.bc.ca

  15. Doug Fenton, Thetis Island Trustee

    E: dfenton@islandstrust.bc.ca

  16. Peter Luckham, Thetis Island Trustee

    E: pluckham@islandstrust.bc.ca

  17. Tahirih Rockafella, Galiano Island Trustee

    E: trockafella@islandstrust.bc.ca

  18. Jane Wolverton, Galiano Island Trustee

    E: jwolverton@islandstrust.bc.ca

    TO HAVE YOUR CONCERNS AND CRITICAL FEEDBACK INCLUDED IN THE PUBLIC ENGAGEMENT PROCESS, PLEASE SEND YOUR LETTERS TO BOTH GROUP EMAILS BELOW:

  19. trustees@islandstrust.bc.ca (group list)

  20. islands2050@islandstrust.bc.ca (Public Engagement Consultant)


For an individual email group list, please scroll down.

Subscribe

For updates, please sign up below, then hit “subscribe”.
Your contact information will be kept confidential.

Questions?

Please reach out directly. Confidentiality is assured.

We use cookies to improve your experience and to help us understand how you use our site. Please refer to our cookie notice and privacy policy for more information regarding cookies and other third-party tracking that may be enabled.

© 2021 Southern Gulf Islands Coalition

Created with
Mailchimp Freddie Badge