Islands Trust Draft Policy & Trustees

Thank you for telling politicians how the Islands Trust Draft Policy Statement impacts you.

Although the public engagement has closed, you can view all your letters to the Islands Trustees about the Draft New Policy Statement, on the Islands 2050 Website under the PUBLIC CORRESPONDENCE tab.  

About the Islands Trust

Every four years, electors in the Islands Trust Area elect 26 trustees to uphold the mandate to preserve and protect this special part of the world. Two local trustees represent each of the 12 local trust areas, and two municipal trustees represent Bowen Island Municipality.

Each local trustee sits on a local trust committee responsible for land use planning and regulation in its local trust area, and all trustees sit on the Islands Trust Council.

The Islands Trust Conservancy Board consists of two elected trustees from Trust Council, one trustee from Trust Council’s Executive Committee, and up to three members of the public appointed by the Minister of Municipal Affairs. Appointed members serve terms of between one and three years.

For more detail on the Trust, see our page
The Islands Trust.

Here’s how Island Trustees voted on the Draft Policy.

First reading of the draft policy voting results in July 2021 under the Trust prior to the Oct. 2022 election. Those 6 trustees in GREEN essentially voted to “ram” it through (without a proper public engagement) while those 20 in RED voted to rethink the policy after receiving so many letters from impacted residents and businesses.

2022-2026 Islands Trust Council

Trustees List: Standing L-R: Jamie Harris, David Graham, Aaron Campbell, Mikaila Lironi, Tim Peterson, Deb Morrison, Lee Middleton, Kate-Louise Stamford, Laura Patrick, Alex Allen, Tobi Elliott, David Maude, Joe Bernardo, Grant Scott, Judi Gedye, Sam Borthwick, Ken Hunter

Sitting L-R: Mairead Boland, Dag Falck, Kristina Evans, Ben Mabberley, Lisa Gauvreau, Peter Luckham, Susan Yates, Sue Ellen Fast

Absent: Jeanine Dodds

Provincial MLAs

We’ve included them below plus you can search for your local MLA at the weblink:

Salt Spring Island, Galiano, North & South Pender, Mayne Island, Saturna

- MLA Saanich North & the Islands - Adam Olsen -

Gabriola, Valdes, Thetis

- MLA Nanaimo – North Cowichan – Doug Routley –


- MLA Parksville – Qualicum – Adam Walker –

Denman, Hornby

- MLA Mid-Island – Pacific Rim – Josie Osborne –

Gambier, Keats

- MLA Powell River – Sunshine Coast – Nicholas Simons –


- MLA West Vancouver – Sea to Sky – Jordan Sturdy –

Government Ministers to Contact
The current cabinet is as follows:

Island Trustees Individual & Group List below.
Phone numbers can be found on the Islands Trust

Please email your representatives with any concerns and copy us if you’re able at
Send to all trustees at once with: list)

Sue Ellen Fast,
Bowen Island Municipal Trustee

Judith Gedye, Bowen Island Municipal Trustee

David Graham, Denman Island Trustee

Sam Borthwick, Denman Island Trustee

Susan Yates, Gabriola Island Trustee

Tobi Elliott, Gabriola Island Trustee

Lisa Gauvreau, Galiano Island Trustee

Ben Mabberley, Galiano Island Trustee

Kate-Louise Stamford, Gambier Island Trustee

Joe Bernardo, Gambier Island Trustee

Alex Allen, Hornby Island Trustee

Grant Scott, Hornby Island Trustee

Mikaila C Lironi, Lasqueti Island Trustee

Timothy Peterson, Lasqueti Island Trustee

Jeanine Dodds, Mayne Island Trustee

David Maude, Mayne Island Trustee

Aaron Campbell,
North Pender Trustee

Deb Morrison, North Pender Island Trustee

Jamie Harris,
Salt Spring Island Trustee

Laura Patrick, Salt Spring Island Trustee

Mairead Boland, Saturna Island Trustee

Lee Middleton, Saturna Island Trustee

Dag Falck,
South Pender Island Trustee

Kristina Evans, South Pender Island Trustee

Ken Hunter,
Thetis Island Trustee

Peter Luckham, Thetis Island Trustee
Chair, Trust Council

Russ Hotsenpiller, Chief Administrative Officer, Islands Trust

Dave Howe, Director – Southern Gulf Islands, Capital Regional District

Gary Holman, Director - Saltspring Island, Capital Regional District

Dr. Risa Smith,
Islands Trust Conservancy Board Member

Linda Adams, Islands Trust Conservancy Board Member

Provincial Shadow Cabinet (Critics)

BC Liberal Leader Kevin Falcon has named his shadow cabinet, tasked with challenging the government on its policies and priorities.  List of shadow critics below. Email the BC Liberal Caucus: You can search for your local MLA at the weblink:

  • Mike de Jong and Peter Milobar will remain the shadow ministers for attorney general and finance respectively, while house leader Todd Stone will step in as critic for jobs, economic development and innovation.

    • Dan Ashton — municipal affairs;

    • Bruce Banman — emergency management, climate readiness and citizen Services;

    • Mike Bernier — forests;

    • Shirley Bond — health, seniors services and long-term care;

    • Doug Clovechok — Columbia Basin initiatives, caucus whip);

    • Dan Davies — social development and poverty reduction;

    • Lorne Doerkson — water, land and resource stewardship and rural development (plus, deputy caucus whip);

    • Trevor Halford — transportation and infrastructure, ICBC and affordability;

    • Karin Kirkpatrick — housing and childcare;

    • Greg Kyllo — labour and skills training;

    • Michael Lee — Indigenous relations and reconciliation;

    • Norm Letnick — children and family development;

    • Renee Merrifield — environment and climate change, gender equity and inclusion;

    • Mike Morris — public safety and solicitor general;

    • Coralee Oakes — advanced education (plus, caucus chair);

    • Ian Paton — agriculture and food;

    • Ellis Ross — energy and LNG;

    • Tom Shypitka — mines and low carbon innovation;

    • Ben Stewart — tourism and trade;

    • Elenore Sturko — mental health, addiction, recovery and education;

    • Jordan Sturdy — BC Ferries, fisheries and aquaculture; and

    • Teresa Wat — multiculturalism, anti-racism initiatives, arts and culture.

MLA Jackie Tegart is the only caucus member not to get a shadow portfolio because she is assistant deputy speaker.

Islands Trust Programs Committee Members

To be updated after the election Oct. 2022.

Contact these politicians & staff for concerns about
forestry or farming

Email your local, regional and provincial politicians/senior staff if you are equally as concerned about the proposed tree-cutting bylaw impacts to forestry and farming.,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Executive Committee

2022 Executive Committee here.


For updates, please sign up below, then hit “subscribe”.
Your contact information will be kept confidential.


Please reach out directly. Confidentiality is assured.

We use cookies to improve your experience and to help us understand how you use our site. Please refer to our cookie notice and privacy policy for more information regarding cookies and other third-party tracking that may be enabled.